Wednesday, November 09, 2005

Dharma: The Three Marks Of Existence

Gautama named three marks, that are with everything that exists:

impermanence (anityata)
Nothing exists eternally, everything changes all the time. Even people. Whatever one is sticking to, it will change and vanish some time.

Everythin that exists ist not perfect, to live is to suffer. The possibility of the end of suffering is shown by Gautama in his Four Noble Truths.

not-self (anatman)
There is no seperated I, Soul or Existence.

the three marks of